Perry Bakalos Group

Thu Dec 1 2016 8:00pm to 11:00pm
This show is free, enjoy!

Perry Bakalos Group

Regie Gibson w/ Perry Bakalos Group -- "Saturday Night"

The Perry Bakalos Group is a high energy original Fusion group that mixes modern Jazz, Funk, Rap Poetry and Greek-Folk music influences together in a unique way that gets an audience moving and thinking...Featuring Regie Gibson on Percussion & Vocals/Poetry, Tim Paul Weiner on Electric Bass, Nadjim Kebir on drums, Matt Dunkle on trumpet, and Perry Bakalos on guitar. The group is currently working on a new recording, to be released in the spring/summer of 2015.

Regie Gibson is the 1998 National Slam Poetry Winner. He co-wrote the 2013 IMA Vox Populi winner for best Funk-Fusion song “This Won’t Take Long” along with Perry Bakalos. Regie released his live Poetry performance project “Trio of Poets” CD in the fall of 2014. He has performed with Amiri Baraka, Mos Def, Stan Strickland, amongst many others. Regie and his work appear in the 1997 New Line Cinema film “Love Jones”.

Tim Paul Weiner is a Boston based composer and bassist. He is a Fodera artist, Berklee College of Music and Longy School of Music graduate. In 2012 he released his first solo album “Groove For Peace”. He studied jazz bass with John Lockwood, classical bass with Pascale Delache-Feldman. Tim Performs with Field Trip, the Matt Chase Group, Atlas Soul, the Boston Jazz Trio, the Gathering, The Sam Chase Band, The Evoke Ensemble, and Clutch Grabwell. He is featured on Atlas Soul’s 2013 IMA award winning EP “Gypsy Wind”.

Nadjim Kebir is an Algerian born drummer/percussionist. His dynamic playing is featured on the Jazz-Rock-Fusion CD release “Essential Hazard”, the 2013 IMA winner EP “Gypsy Wind” by Atlas Soul, Field Trip’s release “There’s Shag on Jupiter”.

Matthew Dunkle is a Boston based Trumpet player, flute player and custom flute designer, and Berklee College of Music graduate. He has performed with jazz vibraphonist Steve Hobbs and Esperanza Spaulding amongst many others.

Perry Bakalos is a Boston based composer/guitarist and engineer. The leader of Jazz-Rock-Fusion group “Essential Hazard”, he composed for and recorded their self-titled 2013 CD, Atlas Soul’s 2013 IMA winner EP “Gypsy Wind”, recorded two CD’s and toured with the Greek Rock-Fusion guitarist Foko in the early 1990’s on the Sony-Microtone label, and was a member of former Columbia Records Artist Digney Fignus’s group in the 1990’s.